Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I have been assisting another photographer transition from landscape photographer to portrait photographer. Together we built her a site, a blog, and a proofing site. We have spent a little time shooting together. And I’m learning all over again one of the reasons I love what I do.

There are a lot of photographers out there. Some choose to think of each other as competition, while others befriend or mentor each other. I don’t see other photographers as competition for this simple fact. No two are alike. It’s art, and like all forms of art, everyone has a different style. While watching (and assisting) Colleen take pictures of people I learned a few things myself. Some of the ways we as artists differ from each other. Colleen is more of an observer, she takes what is already there. From expression to available light. I am more of a director, I tell the subject what to do, and control the light. She CAN control light and give direction when she wants or needs to. Just as I CAN play the quiet observer when nessisary. But the results will be very different. We don’t veiw things the same way.

There is so much more I could share but I’ll shut up for now and just share a link to her blog, and a few pictures I took of her, taking pictures of turtles and stuff last week. I don’t think she has even seen these yet. Hi Colleen.

